MAC Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm

A couple of months ago I found myself at the MAC (of course) messing around with the new (well it was new then) “Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm”, while I was picking up a new bottle of my studio fix foundation.

I’ve had a long and tedious fight with BB creams. When they first became popular, I went out and got a couple of drug store brand BB creams, and I also went to sephora and got a couple of samples of Smashbox and Tarte Cosmetics BB Creams. However, I found that I hated these creams. I felt that they never really did anything for my face, and the coverage was too sheer for my liking. I noticed that I would use these BB Creams and then I would put some foundation over them because there wasn’t enough coverage – which was something I thought was pointless because I didn’t want THAT much product on my face. I mean, what’s the point if I’m just going to put foundation over it? So, needless to say, I gave up on the thought that BB Creams were for me.

UNTIL RECENTLY… when I found MAC’s Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm. I asked the MAC Sales Associate which color would match my face, and she looked at me and said “DARK”. I looked at her like she was crazy, because usually my skin tone is a medium tan color. But she saw the look on my face and told me not to worry because the BB creams blend out their color. And so I tried the DARK Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm and she was right. Surprisingly the color matched my face almost perfectly when it was blended it out a bit. As soon as I tried this BB Cream on my face, I couldn’t believe the results. I was SO intrigued with this BB cream because it was a thicker cream than most BB creams I had used in the past. This BB Cream was similar to a light/medium coverage foundation and it actually blended incredibly well into my skin. I seriously couldn’t believe how amazing it was. So I asked the lady at the counter if she could hook me up with a sample of the BB cream because I wanted to go home and see if I could do a full face with this product.

The next day, I used some of the Prep +Prime BB Beauty Balm before I went to class in place of foundation in my normal make up routine. As the day progressed, I noticed that BB cream was still on my face and it didn’t wear off. The more I used the BB cream the more I noticed that my face was looking natural but still somewhat flawless. It covered most of my old acne scars and imperfections while still looking like I was wearing hardly anything on my face. I began raving about this product to both of my roommates and they couldn’t believe it either.When my roommate Sneh found out that I was going to purchase this product, she told me that she wanted to get it for me instead for my birthday. So she ended up getting me the BB Prep + Prime Beauty Balm in the color “Dark” for my birthday because she saw how much I loved it (I really do have the best roommates ever).

BB CREAM

Basically MAC’s Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm is an amazing product if you want something that is lighter than foundation but has similar coverage PLUS this BB cream is SPF 35, so it does protect your skin from the sun. I usually get a great result when I use this BB cream with concealer and bronzer. It helps my face look flawless without using that much product. I usually use this BB cream during the day when I’m going for a light make up look. I wouldn’t suggest this BB cream or actually any BB cream for someone who has lots of scars and imperfections they want to hide, because you would probably be better off using a medium to full coverage foundation. But for those people who are looking for something light and fast, this might be the perfect thing for you! MAC’s Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm retails for $30 at the MAC counter, which is a bit expensive but most of MAC’s foundations and primers are around that price. I really do believe this BB cream is worth the 30 bucks because it is a high end product and the coverage of this BB cream is phenomenal! 

– Preksha :]

6 thoughts on “MAC Prep + Prime BB Beauty Balm

  1. Thanks for following me! I’ll be following you back. Nice post! I totally understand your initial distaste for BB creams, I was the exact same! It was more like sunscreen :\ – I barely had any coverage, I thought they were essentially for people who had flawless skin but liked to wear makeup D: Great suggestion for the MAC Pre + Prime BB Beauty balm I’ll be sure to try it out! 😀

Leave a comment